6 Oldest Churches in Laguna Province, Philippines

Posted by

1.) Church of Nagcarlang

The first church which was of light materials was built by Rev. Tomas De Miranda who was assigned in Nagcarlan in 1583 as resident priest. The second church, of brick and stone, was built in 1752, but was partly destroyed by fire in 1781 a choirlift was added to the reconstructed church in 1845 by Rev. Vicente Velloc, who built the Nagcarlang Cemetery and its underground crypt.

2.) National Shrine of San Antonio De Padua, Pila, Laguna

3.) Immaculate Conception Parish of Sta. Cruz

4.) Church of Lilio

The ecclesiastical administration of Liliw belonged to Nagcarlan up to 1605. The Church and convent of Lilio were seriously damaged by earthquakes of 1880. The reconstructed church were partly burned on April 6, 1890.

5.) Church of Magdalena

 The church dedicated to the heroine of love, St. Mary Magdalene, is made of strong materials and situated on a hill of solid rock. Its construction was initiated under the direction and supervision of Rev. Frs. Fray Maximo Rico, Fray Jose Cuesta, Fray Joaquin de Coria and Francisco de Paula Gonzales, completed and beautifully adorned in 1854 by its zealous priest the Rev. Fr. Fray Jose Urbina de Esparragosa.

       The Church of Magdelana was built for 16 years, 1821-1839 and 1849-1855. The Bell was built in 1851 and the convent was built 1871-1872. All of the gravels and sand were extracted from the nearby river. The first parochial priest was Antonio Moreno who started August 5, 1821.

6.) Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish Church, Pagsanjan


Leave a Reply